Avoiding plastic bags

April 27, 2009 at 10:32 AM 2 comments

Produce Bags

Produce Bags

As I noted in a previous post, now that I can compost, and I can recycle a lot of plastics here in the city of Toronto, most of what’s left in my garbage is plastic wrappers and bags. Since having that close look at my garbage bag, I’ve been trying to reduce the amount of plastic that goes into it. While at the Green Living show this weekend, I came across Credobags’ produce bags, so I bought a large one and two small ones to try them out. They’re made in Canada and they’re basically organic cotton mesh bags. I’m sure they weigh a little bit more than the thin plastic bags at the store, but I’m willing to pay for the slight weight difference in order to avoid the plastic.

The bags are a result of Judy Lazar’s entrenpreneurship – Lazar began making these a couple of years ago when she saw a hole in the market. Her bags are made by women in Montreal (from Turkish cotton), including by newly immigrated women who’ve sought out the non-profit “Les Petites Mains” as a way to find work in their new home. (See the Montreal Gazette story here.)

I’ll give them a try and tell you what the checkout cashiers think of them!

Have you found ways to avoid bringing extra plastics into your home?

Entry filed under: Green living products.

Stephen Lewis: How to act on climate change Getting to work: Carpooling reduces your GHGs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mama Kaia  |  April 28, 2009 at 11:13 AM

    I’ve also been very surprised at the amount of plastic that collects in my recycling bin. Because we have to separate our plastics and paper in Ottawa, it’s easy to see the difference. And if I think about it, I shouldn’t be too surprised – at some grocery stores here if I really want to have cucumbers in my salad, I have to buy them plastic wrapped! It’s interesting because my husband and I make most of our meals from scratch – nothing pre-prepped or prefabricated. Yet we still end up with so much plastic. Of course I avoid the plastic wrapping whenever I can. One thing we do is that we don’t use those thin plastic bags at all when we’re buying our pears, apples, sweet potatoes, etc. etc. It drives me crazy to see someone put TWO lemons in a plastic bag! We keep everything loose, and are just careful about putting everything together at the check out so they can be weighed together and careful of packing it all into our larger cloth bags or backpack (sweet potatoes and squashes at the bottom of the bag, next apples and pears, asparagus and tomatoes on top. The only thing we use plastic bags for are grapes as they’re a little more fragile and harder to contain.)

    Reply
  • 2. Another blow to plastic bags « Eco Logic  |  October 30, 2009 at 2:42 PM

    […] for a lot of plastic savings. The bags are reusable, washable and stain resistant, not unlike these Canadian-made bags I blogged about […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar of Posts

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Homemakers.com Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds


