A few ways to reduce paper waste

October 28, 2009 at 1:36 PM 1 comment

Mailbox with flagI’ll admit that I get more mail than I’d like in my mailbox. While I look forward to receiving my favourite magazines every month, and it’s a treat to get notes from friends, I also get notices, statements, bills and offers. While I’ve moved just about everything I can to digital billing, my partner and I still seem to make use of the shredder fairly often. (Hey, shredded paper makes great mulch, according to Homemakers.com!)

While I’ve moved some of my bank statements, magazine renewals and utility bills to digital notifications, and I pay my cell phone bill through ePost, I think I could do more to give a few more a reprieve. It’s time I called a few of the letter senders to see if I can get on an e-mail list instead of receiving so much paper. I’d love to be removed from some lists altogether, which always seems difficult, but Canada Post has a suggestion.

There’s addressed mail, and then there’s pure junk mail. While I have a note on the inside of my mailbox lid saying no to junk mail, it’s hard to catch the neighbourhood kids who deliver pizza fliers and the like – they’re quick!

At Homemakers magazine, you can sign up for your subscription online, and change your address renew your subscription digitally as well.

If you would like to see how much you could conserve in resources per year by cutting your paper mail, try this calculator at Pay It Green.

Have you been battling your analog inbox? How have you reduced the amount of paper mail coming your way?

Entry filed under: Reduce. Tags: , .

Ripening tomatoes, the last of summer’s fruit Attic insulation: lessons from above

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Josh  |  October 29, 2009 at 2:40 PM

    Great post, Jessica. In an effort to go paperless at home, I’ve taken a, err, page, from an office initiative and changed the default margins on my home computer from 1.25″ to 1″ so that when I do print, I use less paper. We also use scrap paper for grocery lists and kids doodle pads. And, if you are an AMEX cardholder, if you switch to paperless billing you’ll get 25 bonus Air Miles (disclosure: Air Miles is a client).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar of Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Homemakers.com Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds


