Ack! Wasted food!

November 9, 2009 at 2:19 PM 4 comments

rotten tomato food wasteTry as I might, I can’t help but waste food. Every week there’s something that I should have used up earlier, something that ripened… and beyond… when I wasn’t looking.

Maybe it’s my somewhat erratic schedule — I’ve given up planning more than a couple of days in advance — or maybe I’m just not a great strategist.

I do like making “kitchen sink” vegetable soups and stews to use up what I have in the fridge, but I think I need other ways of dealing with aging produce.

First, I guess I need to know what I have on hand so I don’t buy the wrong things, or too much of a good thing!
Second, when I have too much I should try to freeze a portion to use in a recipe later. Can you freeze mushrooms though?
Third, I should try to be more inventive in using up food. Let’s see, omelettes, novel pasta sauces, roasted veggie surprise…

Do you have strategies for reducing food waste?

Entry filed under: Eco-friendly food, Reduce. Tags: , , , .

Add a humidifier, add cosy comfort Winnipeg’s reminder of climate change

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Martin  |  November 9, 2009 at 9:06 PM

    I try to be strategic when I’m putting food in the fridge and ignore the vegetable crisper, dairy shelf, and such. (Why would I let the fridge tell me where to keep my food?) Whatever will lose freshness first–fish, lettuce, fresh herbs–goes up front and at eye level, so I don’t forget it’s there. The rutabaga that will last for months goes in the bottom drawer.

    Reply
  • 2. Marnie  |  November 12, 2009 at 7:29 PM

    I make soup too but also just make more of something; that is more veggies in something and then freeze part for those nights when we get home late.

    Reply
    • 3. ecologicjess  |  November 16, 2009 at 12:40 PM

      Not a bad idea! Just make more of whatever you’re making and keep the leftovers for lunches, to add to soups and so forth. I’ve heard that roasted veggies are great for soups — I should roast extra with a meat dish, then put some of the veggies aside from a soup day.

      Reply
  • 4. Katrin Lepik  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:22 AM

    I also try to make interesting soups, salads and sauces. Or curried vegetable pancakes with the few odd veggies that are left. The fact that food goes off makes cooking more fun- since you are forced to be creative.
    I recently read about how rotting food releases methane gas which is a more potent greenhouse gas than CO2. So there’s some extra motivation for us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar of Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Homemakers.com Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds


